With regard to the judiciary, the supreme court has a chief justice and two assistant judges. The chief justice is also the local judge in admiralty of the exchequer court. The supreme court is also a court of appeal and has jurisdiction in appeal chancery cases. It has original jurisdiction both in civil and criminal matters. In civil cases of debt the action must be for an amount above \$32, and all cases beyond the jurisdiction of the county court may be tried before a judge of the supreme court. The assistant judges of this court have also chancery powers. There is a surrogate and probate court for the province with one judge. A system of county courts is established consisting of three judges, one for each county. These are appointed and paid by the federal government and have jurisdiction in suits up to the sum of one hundred and fifty dollars. Education is under the direction of a Board of Education consisting of the members of the Executive Council of the province and the Superintendent of Education, who is also secretary of the Board.

In the calendar year 1921, the ordinary revenue amounted to \$727,046 and the ordinary expenditure to \$687,935.

QUEBEC.

By G. E. MARQUIS, Chief, Bureau of Statistics of Quebec.

Political and Administrative Organization.—The visitor who for the first time enters the chamber of the Legislative Assembly of Quebec is sure to notice and admire the large painting placed above the Speaker's chair. This painting represents the first assembly of representatives of the people to be elected by popular vote, which sat in Canada at Quebec, the capital of Lower Canada, in 1792, on the establishment of the parliamentary government which still exists and which originated in the Constitutional Act of 1791.

A similar form of government was at the same time established in the province of Upper Canada. This state of affairs lasted down to 1840, when the two provinces were united, and the territory governed by the union of the two Canadas received the name of province of Canada. Finally in 1867 a confederation of four provinces was set up. The provinces of Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia were the first to join in establishing a central government, the seat of which was fixed by the Imperial Government at Ottawa. To each province was granted a Provincial Government, having the right to legislate upon public instruction, public works (within the province), the administration of the lands, colonization, agriculture, asylums, prisons, reformatories and industrial schools, the organization of the civil courts, municipal institutions, as well as other points of Provincial interest. The respective powers of the Dominion and of the various Provincial Governments are exhaustively defined by sections 91 and 92 of the British North America Act.

The legislature of Quebec is composed of three branches: the Legislative Assembly of eighty-one members representing the eightytwo electoral divisions of the province (the counties of Chicoutimi